The Critical Coastal Areas (CCA) Program is an innovative program to foster collaboration among local stakeholders and government agencies, to better coordinate resources, and to focus efforts on coastal watersheds in critical need of protection from polluted runoff.

A multi-agency statewide CCA Committee has identified an initial list of 101 CCAs along the coast and in San Francisco Bay. SFEI received a 319(h) grant to provide technical guidance in three CCA Pilot Areas: Sonoma Creek, Fitzgerald Marine Reserve, and Watsonville Slough. For more information on the CCA program, please visit the official website or the Association of Bay Area Government's site (LINK)

Associated Staff: 
Programs and Focus Areas: 
Clean Water Program
Watershed Monitoring and Modeling
Location Information